My Quest for Truth

August 13, 2013 at 8:37 pm 1 comment

I really want to hear truth from our politicians, and I believe I’m not alone.

I don’t want half-truths and lies. I don’t want claims coming from the imagination of the person making the claim, or from the party apparatchiks who write the lines.

I want to know the real story: bad news where it is bad, good where it is good. I don’t want exaggerated rounding up or down of figures and percentages. I want the parties to explain their platforms, tell us how they will fund their promises, what cuts they plan to make. I want more than “3-word-slogans” – which, of course, is a three word slogan!!

When the Liberals say they will stop the boats and tow them back, I want to know exactly how they will do that without breaching international conventions at sea. How many boats and people are going to be needed to achieve this: there’s a lot of water up there, and we are not finding all the boats now!! Will this be any cheaper than Labor’s “take them all to Manus Island” solution? Are either the best answer – to me, NO.

Why won’t Tony Abbott explain how the Liberals will fund their promises? How will Labor make the transition to a post-resources boom economy? Since there is likely a $30b debt, whoever wins, how will each parties plan to deal with this….

I have mentioned on Facebook that there is a website called The Conversation which looks at some of the claims and hyped up rhetoric to discover the truth. There is another site you might want to look at which checks for truth: it’s called Politifact. I’ll be referring to it to seek the truth…will you?

Entry filed under: Politics and Government.

Yay, Gay Marriage: let’s just do it!! However bad, we’ve got it good really…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jane waterton  |  August 13, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    I agree Judi. I am fed up with politicians who treat us like idiots. Maybe we deserve it, but I would like to think we deserve better! The problem is, there is no better – just what we have got!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 128 other followers

Categories


