Who, what….why?

July 8, 2013 at 9:17 pm Leave a comment

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been a politics groupie. Philosophically, I’m left of centre, but in this blog, where politics is concerned, I try to be a devil’s advocate and not too biased. You may think otherwise! [Note for my possibly confused American and UK friends: Liberal here = Republicans (USA) and Conservatives(UK), Labor here = Democrats (USA) and Labour (UK). The current marginal party here is The Greens.]

We have an election coming up (we did know the date, but since the Labor Party dumped Prime Minister Gillard for recycled PM Rudd – as you have seen in my previous recent posts), and the new date is unknown. I should be all fired up and enthusiastic to hear what the parties are offering. But I’m not. I am totally disillusioned by the major parties. Both of them. Neither of them now stand for what I believe in or offer a vision of an Australian society of which I really want to be part.

The election is going to be fought in the marginal seats. The people in those seats will be polled within an inch of their lives, and advertising and promises will be directed at them. I’m predicting the media blitz by both parties will be short on facts and real policies, and long on slogans and meaningless phrases. To really discover what the parties stand for, it will be necessary to trawl through their websites. And there may be some big surprises hidden away, I suspect…So, in the interests of clarity, I’ve decided that over the next 6 weeks or so, I’ll be taking a look at what they are really planning, and passing on what I find.

If you have a particular area you would like me to explore, just put in a comment, and I’ll see what I can find out. I will add in some odds and ends and hopefully, some lighter moments and humour too. If I seem to be telling you what you already know, I apologise: just breeze straight over that.

So, for a start, may I just clarify that we the people DO NOT vote for the Prime Minister, although many Aussie think we do. We vote for a candidate in the seat in which we live. The PARTIES vote for their leader (as we’ve just seen), and the party with the most seats forms the government, and their leader becomes the PM.

Entry filed under: Politics and Government.

Be Careful What You Wish For, Labor! At last…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 128 other followers

Categories


